Features

Thermo Scientific Webinar

Date: 2012-10-03 13:35:38.0
Author: Jon Evans

Thermo Scientific Webinar




Wednesday, November 14, 2012: 15:00 UTC
08.00am PST / 11.00am EST / 16.00 GMT / 17.00 CET
Click here to check the time in your own country >>>

Register now for free!

 


Overview

The uncertainty associated with the supply of petroleum has increased interest and research in feasible alternative fuels. Although biofuels have emerged as an attractive alternative to fossil fuels, large scale development is currently unfeasible. An important aspect of alternative fuels is the development of renewable fuel characterization, processes, and contaminant analysis using robust analytical methods. Ion chromatography (IC) is a proven technique for providing fast and reliable answers to biofuel workflows from research to production.

This webinar will focus on the need for a fast and robust approach for high resolution of carbohydrates in feedstock. There are several liquid chromatography (LC) methods in the industry for analysis of sugars; however, development of a robust analytical method for accurate quantification of sugars in biofuel feedstock is challenging. This webinar will focus on understanding high-performance anion-exchange chromatography with pulsed amperometric detection (HPAE-PAD) technology for the analysis of carbohydrates in feedstock. This involves optimizing method parameters, including column chemistry, to get fast, efficient separation of mono- and disaccharides with good resolution, linearity, and accuracy over a broad dynamic range.

We will also focus on the analysis of saccharides and cellobiose during the enzymatic or chemical hydrolysis of complex carbohydrates in biomass materials. Depending on the hydrolysis condition, some residual sucrose and cellobiose may be present. While cellulose in the biomass is hydrolyzed to cellobiose by cellulase, beta-glucosidase is required for further hydrolysis. If beta-glucosidase activity is insufficient, cellobiose and other soluble sugars will accumulate and compromise fermentation efficiency. We will provide examples on the importance of monitoring cellobiose, other saccharides, and their impact on the fermentation process.


Learning Objectives

HPAE-PAD methods for carbohydrate analysis in feedstock

How parameters are important in validating methods to ensure accurate quantification


Who should attend?

Scientists interested in biofuels

Lab managers who are considering performing this analysis

Wednesday, November 14, 2012: 15:00 UTC
08.00 PST / 11.00 EST / 16.00 GMT / 17.00 CET
Click here to check the time in your own country >>>

Register now for free!

Your Speakers

Paul Voelker

Global Chemicals & Petrochemicals Market Development Manager
Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc.

Archana Pandey

Senior Research Associate
Analytics, R&D
LS9 Inc.

Professor C. Kevin Chambliss

Associate Professor of Chemistry
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Baylor University